By LG

Written By;

Carl Sengstock

Xander Schauffele picked a pretty cool tournament to get his first victory by winning the Greenbriar Classic.

The Greenbriar was solid mud and under water last year and the tournament had to be cancelled.

I hope everybody got to watch it this weekend. Beautiful grounds and buildings. The fairways were amazing and the NEW greens were true and fair.

Xander fired a -3 under par 67 today to gain a one shot victory.

He not only won his first tournament but automatically got into the British Open in 2 weeks, the Masters, jumped to 28th in the FedEx Cup standings.

Overall a magical week for this nice young man.

Poor Sebastain Munoz, he held the lead the first 3 days but could do no better than a tie for 3rd with Jamie Lovemark.

Robert Streb struggled a little off and on today but ended up all alone in second place with his -13 under par total.

The best news is Schauffele, Streb, Lovemark, & Munoz all get to pack their bags and head across the pond for their first British Open.

All eyes were on Davis Love III today. Unfortunately it was 13 pars and 5 bogeys and a t29 finish. At age 53 he could have become the oldest winner on the PGA Tour.

He is third oldest presently and is going to play the John Deere Classic next week. A win there puts him in the British Open. Let’s keep our fingers crossed!!

You are going to hear a lot about the Dubai Duty Free Open held in Ireland this week.

What you won’t hear much about is Jon Rahm’s 6 shot victory. The announcers are going to dwell on the fact he mismarked his golf ball on the 6th green.

Unfortunately the ball was marked on the side and then moved to get it out of the way of his playing partner Im’s ball.

When he replaced it it looked like he moved the marker back and then marked his ball behind it.

This brings up Lexie Thompson’s 4 shot penalty a while ago. Rahm was NOT penalized because according to the rules official it was barely off from where the ball started.

Apparantely they are allowing a little difference from where the ball was to where you place it.

I agree with Nick Faldo……..put the marker behind the ball every time next you will never have a problem.

I watched this 4 times and obviously he wasn’t trying to cheat but it wasn’t replaced the same way. Maybe a 2 shot penalty was warranted. He still would have won by 4 not 6. LOL LOL

 

Filed under: PGA Tour Golf

Tagged with: , , , ,


Readers Comments (1)

  1. Kenyon Johnson

    Great read Carl

     Reply




Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.