The Cincinnati Bengals were founded in 1966 by former head coach of the Cleveland Browns, Paul Brown who later became the owner of the Bengals Franchise. The Bengals were a member of the American Football League.   During the 1970’s and the 1980’s the Bengals became real contenders winning AFC Championships in 1981 and 1989 only to lose in the Superbowl to the San Francisco 49ers in XVI and XXIII.  Following Paul Browns death in 1991 controlling interest of the Bengals went to Mike Brown who was Paul Brown’s son.  Brown recently purchased shares of the team owned by the estate of co-founder Austin Knowlton and is now the majority owner of the Bengals franchise.

Through the 1990’s and the 2000’s the Bengals seemed to struggle, the team went through several coaches and several of their top draft picks didn’t pan out. Just recently (2011) the teams quarterback Carson Palmer no longer wished to play for the Bengals so he was going to sit out the entire N.F.L. season. Mike Brown vowed to let Palmer sit out rather than trade him, Brown who seems to be just as stubborn as his late father. Brown finally gave in and accepted a deal from the Oakland Raiders and Palmer returned to football.  Mike Brown who is also the teams General manager, was rated as among the worst team owners in American professional sports. For more on the history of the Cincinnati Bengals Click here.

The Bengals Could be back

Owner: Mike Brown

President: Mike Brown

Head Coach: Marvin Lewis

Other Useful links:      Official Bengals Site           Players/Roster       Bengals Schedule          Front Office Personal

Bengals Coaches         Cincinnati Cheerleaders        Bengals Statistics
Shop for Cincinnati Bengals Gear at!