NBA National Basketball Association The National Basketball Association (N.B.A.) was founded in 1946 in New York, New York. The N.B.A. played their first season 1946-47. The N.B.A. as we know it today is comprised of 30 teams.  The present Commissioner is David Stern.  Stern took over as the N.B.A. commissioner in 1984, before Stern was the commissioner Larry O’Brien  held the office.  The N.B.A. was founded by owners of the major ice hockey arenas in the Northeastern and Midwestern United States and Canada.

The first game of the N.B.A. was between the  Toronto Huskies hosted the New York Knickerbockers and was held at Maple Leaf Gardens, this game is still regarded by the N.B.A. as the first game played. The NBA is one of the four major North American professional sports leagues. NBA players are the world’s best paid sportsmen, by average annual salary per player. The NBA as we know it now consists of 30 franchised teams with 29 of them located in the United States and one in Toronto Canada.

The NBA is broken into two conferences, The Eastern conference and the Western Conference. Each Conference is broken down into three divisions. The Eastern Conference has Atlantic,Central and Southeast conferences and the Western has  Northwest,Pacific and Southwest. Each divisions have five teams in them. The last N.B.A. Championship was won by the Dallas Mavericks their first and the Boston Celtics have won the most with 17 titles.

Some Useful Links;

Basketball Hall Of Fame

NBA Scores And Schedule

NBA Stats

Shop Real Gear for Real Fans at!